Whoooo Are You?

Hello readers! It seems as though a proper introduction is in order, since you may be sitting on the other side of your computer screen thinking, “Who in the world is writing this blog?!” Well, my name is Dacia Parnell. Nice to meet you 🙂

But I want to give you guys an even better sense of who I am and what I love, so I present you with ten random facts about myself:

1. I’m a happy-as-a-clam newlywed. I married my dream hunk, Jordan, on August 14, 2010. And here’s a little fact within a fact for ya: the air conditioning went out in the church a few days before the wedding. We had 400+ people there so it was hotter than blue blazes..we even had a bridesmaid pass out! But even with all that, I still think it was my most perfect day 🙂

2. We have one child. And she has fur.

Isn’t she the cutest thing you ever did see?? Her name is Lucy and she’s a boxer-poodle mix. She is basically my shadow..if I get up to go to the kitchen, I can count on her being right on my heels. I’ve seriously never seen a dog that wants attention more than her. And if she’s feeling neglected, she will come put her big ol’ paws in your lap and stare you down until you are forced to give her a belly rub. She might be just a tad spoiled.

3. I’m a hoarder. Now, before you call an intervention, let me explain. I don’t hoard things (except for magazines), I hoard ideas. I’m constantly surfing the web and finding things that inspire me, whether it’s a DIY project or a recipe. The problem is I gather all these ideas, but I never actually follow through with them. I’m paralyzed by a fear of it going horribly wrong. So, in part, I’m hoping this blog will give me the motivation to attempt these things because I want to have lots of good stuff to share with you lovely lemon-droppers!

4. Pinterest = love. If you haven’t heard of Pinterest..oh. my. word. Let me fill you in. It’s basically a giant mood board. As you surf the web, you can save any image you find to this one central location. It also saves the source of the image, so you can always go back later and find where the image came from. They’re in their early stages of testing, so you have to request an invite, but that only takes a couple weeks (at least it did for me). And I’ve actually found that the website itself is a great place to find inspiration. I pin at least 5 new images every time I even log on.

5. I have a special place in my heart for Italy. I actually just love travel in general, but Italy…oh Italy. I lived in Florence for a couple months after my sophomore year of college. It was one of the absolute best experiences of my life, and I fell in love with all things Italian. I can’t wait to take Jordan back there someday.


6. Music is something I’m very passionate about. I sang practically before I could talk, and to this day music still plays a huge part in my life. I often find myself singing and don’t even realize it. Ask Jordan. And because I had two significantly older siblings (my brother is 7 years older, my sister is 14 years older), I was exposed to a wide range of music. How many 10 year old girls do you know that can belt out every word to “Copacabana?”

7. I have an irrational fear of birds. Don’t ask me why, but birds terrify me. Their sharp beaks and little talons..I just can’t handle it. When I visited St. Mark’s Square in Venice (which is the place famous for having TONS of pigeons), I almost had a heart attack. I’m sure I looked like a complete idiot as I walked through, screeching and ducking every 5 seconds. The weird thing is that I LOVE faux birds. A vintage bird painting? Love. A little ceramic bird tchotchke? Double love. Somewhere in the distance I can hear Alanis Morissette, “…and isn’t it ironic, dontcha think?”

8.One of my favorite things to hear is dirt and debris being sucked up by the vacuum. It makes me feel uber productive. I’ll even go a couple days longer between vacuuming just so I can be assured that I’ll hear that sound. Is that weird? Does anyone else get as much pleasure out of that as I do?

9. I didn’t eat salad until I was 21. I know, I’m weird. I just always felt like it had no taste. But then one day, I tried it and the heavens opened. Mikey, he likes it! I still don’t eat as many veggies as I should, but I’m working on it!

10. I have a secret dream of having an Etsy shop where I sell furniture that I’ve transformed from ‘blah’ to ‘ahhhh.’ Who knows how long it would actually take for me to get something like that off the ground, but it never hurts to dream!

So, that’s just a few little tidbits about your truly. Got a random fact you’d like to share? Post it in the comments!

PS – you get 1000 cool points if you read the title of this post and started singing ‘The Who’ song 🙂

April 19, 2011. Life.

13 Comments

  1. The Pinterest Challenge replied:

    […] Let me explain..it’s basically a challenge (thought up by the hilarious Katie Bower) to stop pinnin’ and start doin’. For those of you who don’t know what Pinterest is, I gushed about it a little in this post. […]

  2. The Pinterest Challenge « Lemon Drop Life replied:

    […] Let me explain..it’s basically a challenge (thought up by the hilarious Katie Bower) to stop pinnin’ and start doin’. For those of you who don’t know what Pinterest is, I gushed about it a little in this post. […]

  3. abbieisaninjaa replied:

    Lucy’s dumb face is the BEST! Love you, Mommaaaa!

  4. Ashley replied:

    Oh friend, I love how much we have in common. We’re like two peas in a pod 🙂
    Very nice blog 🙂

  5. Sue(Mom) replied:

    Love it! Yes, I get the points!! And I can verify the singing before talking… What was even more amazing was the perfect pitch and the fact that she only had to hear a song once and would know the words and tune!!
    One of her first public singing appearances was singing “Champion of Love” at age 8 with complete perfection!! She brought the house to their knees!! Keep singing Dacia, it’s a gift from God!
    PS: Another tidbit, She is also a natural born pianist.
    PS2: She also has a beautiful younger sister.

    • jdparnell replied:

      Thanks, Mom..love you! And of course, I could never forget about our not-so-little-anymore Jenna! I’ve got a couple of pretty incredible parents, too 😉

  6. jobranham1964 replied:

    Good job, Dacia. Hmmm…I’m trying to picture you as a DIYer. It wouldn’t have been my first image of you – but I can see you doing it.
    Go for your dreams!
    I do NOT get points. I was so interested in the Lemon Drop title that I totally missed Whoooo Are You? – can you believe it? But Im SURE I would’ve started singing it if I had noticed. 😉

    • jdparnell replied:

      Haha, I’ll give you the cool points anyway 😉

  7. raquel replied:

    hi dacia!!! this blog idea is great!!!! 🙂 i feel i can read it and it’s you talking! 🙂 i miss you lovely and i hope everything is going well!

    • jdparnell replied:

      Thanks, Raquel! I miss you too, hope everything is good in Canada. Tell Aatish I said hi!!

  8. Juli replied:

    A get 1000 cool points! Of course…I also think of CSI.

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

