Fun Finds

Saturday, Jordan and I spent our morning visiting a couple of our favorite local antique shops. We have so much fun browsing and trying to find the perfect thing (or things) to bring home with us. I always feel such a sense of accomplishment when I find something at an antique or thrift store. It’s like I revert back to the prehistoric days of hunting and gathering, and I’m just so proud when I drag my prey (aka a vintage trunk or a pair of candlesticks or whatever else I happen to find that day) back to my cave. Anyone else get that feeling? Just me?? Ok, moving on..

I snapped some pictures of the things that caught my eye, so I just thought I’d share them with you guys! The first store we visited is a shop in Brookston (a few miles north of Lafayette) called Locust Hill Antiques. If you’ve never been, it’s definitely worth a visit..they’ve got some great stuff!

I love the Grecian style of this vase, it would look so pretty with a big flower arrangement in it!

A whole basket full of vintage door knobs..there were some really beautiful ones in there,and they would pretty up any plain old door!

For the pirate in all of us: a chandelier with attached parrot. I had to throw this one in for some laughs.

A beautiful handcrafted dollhouse..what little girl wouldn’t love this?!

Our next stop was Leaping Leopards here in Lafayette. We visit this one pretty often and I absolutely love it. I was really excited to go back today so I could snap a picture of the table I’ve been eyeing for months to share with you guys. It’s a fabulous 10-foot harvest dining table..dark wood, weathered, solid. Geesh, I get all hot and bothered just thinking about it. Every time we passed by it, I would imagine the beautiful parties we could have..family and friends all gathered around this lovely table. Grab your kleenexes, though, folks..this story does not have a happy ending. When we went back today, I went right to the spot that the table always sits in..only to find it wasn’t there. My heart skipped a beat and I looked around for the owner. “What happened to the 10-foot harvest table you guys used to have?” I tried to ask as nonchalantly as possible. Then those three words I was dreading: “We sold it.” NOOOOO!!!! That was my table! How could they sell it? So what if there was absolutely NO place it would fit in our house?! I was saving it for our ‘someday’ house. Sad day.

But even though I was slipping into a furniture depression, I still managed to take pictures of some other stuff that was alright..I guess..whatev. (Yes, I know..I’m dramatic. So what? It makes for better reading :))

I thought this was an adorable idea. They turned old wooden croquet balls into placeholders. Wouldn’t they be cute for an outdoor garden-style party??

Love the colors in this trunk! It would make an adorable toy chest in a little boys room!

I love this old telephone desk. I can just picture a 50’s housewife sitting in that chair, chatting the day away with a friend. I would love to bring this home with me and reupholster the seat in a more modern fabric. I think it would look awesome in an entryway or foyer. Dreams for another day I suppose..

I saw these and couldn’t help but think of my friend Whitney..she’s got a thing for vintage suitcases.

And of course we brought home a couple cute things..both from Locust Hill.

Hubs had been dying to find a set of Abe Lincoln bookends for his office and they had the perfect set for only $45! That may seem like a lot, but these things are solid and we’ve seen similar sets for up to $150. So, we made an offer of $40, and they took it. Did I mention I also love the haggling aspect of antique stores? I was a little sheepish about doing it at first, but I figured the worst they can do is say no..and I haven’t had that happen yet!

The minute I laid my eyes on these babies, I knew they were coming home with me. They were marked $15 for the pair, and I got them for $10! And I think they look oh-so-happy in their new home don’t you?

May 2, 2011. Life.

3 Comments

  1. Whitney replied:

    Awwww! You were totally right – I LOVE those! You found some amazing things. Aside from my beloved suitcases, I think my favorite was the telephone desk chair thing. I haven’t seen many of those!

  2. Christina replied:

    LOVE the old trunk…absolutely gorgeous!!!

  3. abbieisaninjaa replied:

    LOVE LOVE LOOOOOOVVVVEEE the abe lincoln book ends…of course. Haha! Can’t wait to see them 🙂

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

