Cuttin’ A Rug

Alright, people, I’ve got a decision to make and it’s of the utmost importance. I need to pick out a rug for our living room. Ok, so maybe it’s not of the utmost importance to youuu…but I would greatly appreciate some input here 🙂

We’ve lived in this house for almost 9 months and I have gone round and round trying to figure out what rug I want for our living room. As of now, there’s a whoooole lotta shakin’ brown goin on. Our couches are brown, the walls are tan, the coffee table is a dark wood. The room is in desperate need of a shot of color. And when I start to browse through all my options, my head nearly explodes. So, I thought I would let you all in on my top picks and get your feedback so I can finally make a decision!

My first choice is this beauty from CB2. I was immediately attracted to the colors..blue and green make me a happy girl. It’s on the pricier side, but not terribly expensive as far as area rugs go..$349 for a 5′ x 8′.

This exotic looking lady is from one of my favorite stores, West Elm. I love, love, love yellow and gray together. I feel like it’s a very classic color combo, but the bold print keeps it fun and casual. And since the living room is the place where we spend the majority of our time, I want to keep it casual feeling. And the price tag ain’t too shabby either..just $199 for a 5′ by 8′. Momma likey.

Ok, so this guy from Urban Outfitters is a new comer to the rug race. But he’s quickly pulling ahead. I’m a little ashamed to say this, but….colors in the red family intimidate me. I’m attracted to cool blues and greens. I feel like if colors were people, blue and green would be chillaxin’ out on a big comfy couch with their respective guitars singing a little acoustic number and making everybody feel warm and fuzzy. But RED. Red’s a different person. Red comes into the room and demands everyone attention immediately. Red screams ‘Look at me! I’m bold.‘ And the thought of having someone in my house that demands more attention than Lucy already demands just scares me. However, this rug is slowly bringing me around. It’s not over-the-top candy apple red. It’s more like a lively coral, and I think Ms. Coral just might add a funky little harmony to the tune Mr. Blue and Mr. Green are singing.

My last and final option is something that I’m just really curious about. It’s from a company called Flor. Basically, they offer you a chance to build your own rug using 20″ carpet squares, or ’tiles’ as they call them. They have hundreds of different designs in different pile heights as well, so the options are really pretty endless.I’m in love with the blue ikat print (shown above), so that’s probably what I would go with. It takes 12 tiles to build a 5′ x 7′ rug and each of the blue ikat tiles is $13.99, so the grand total comes in at about $170. My only concern is that the tiles wouldn’t stay put together and I’d constantly be adjusting them. The website, though, assures you that they do indeed stay together.

So, ladies and gents, there you have it. My options. Which rug would you choose? Any other stores I should check out? Maybe someone out there has experience with Flor rugs that they’d be willing to share? I’d love to hear from you!

May 4, 2011. Home/Design.

One Comment

  1. Whitney replied:

    What colors are you decorating with in your living room? Or are you going to base it off the rug? My favorite is the yellow and gray one, but I may have an obsession. Ha! But considering your brown surroundings, I love the blue and white one from Flor. It’s a classic pattern and you could bring in so many other colors and patterns!

    I totally understand your rug love. We need to get new carpet, so we’re saving our money for that instead of a large rug. But that doesn’t keep me from buying the smaller rugs like crazy! I just picked up a 3’x5′ for $20! Rugs just add so much to a room. 🙂

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

