Momma Didn’t Raise No Fool

I suppose some people might disagree with my above statement but they’re not writing this, so booyah. As I’m sure you already know, Mother’s Day is today (if this is new information, then you’ve got some groveling to do). It’s a day to celebrate the woman who brought you into this world, and probably threatened to take you out of it at least once or twice in your childhood.

I’m so blessed in the mother department. Actually, my whole family is pretty awesome..both the family I was born into and the one I married into. But my mom, well, she takes the cake. She can comfort me like no one else can. Sometimes when I feel sick or I’ve got aches and pains, I call her and list off my symptoms. And even though I already know what’s wrong and what medicine I should take, it just feels more reassuring to hear it come out of her mouth. And don’t even get me started on cooking. When I’m attempting one of her recipes, I usually make no less than three phone calls to her to make sure I’m doing it right..”What do you mean when you say ‘cut in the flour?’ Is it supposed to be this runny?” You get the idea. She knows the answer to just about all my questions, cooking and otherwise. And I don’t do a good enough job of telling her how incredibly amazing she is, so I’ll take the opportunity now..

Mom, you’re the absolute best. You are superwoman. You have a successful career, raised four kids, and we never wanted for anything. You’re beautiful, smart, kind, and funny. You taught me the value of God, family, and friends and I am a better person because of how you and Dad raised me. I owe so much to you, and I can honestly say that I beam with pride when someone says I’m even a little bit like you. You have set a wonderful example for the kind of wife, mother, and Christian woman that I want to be. And I think I can speak for all of your kids when I say I’m proud to be able to call you my friend, confidante, hero, and Mother. I love you!

May 8, 2011. Life.

One Comment

  1. Sue Elkins replied:

    What a sweet blog. I had a great teacher in my Mother and I hope I can pass just a little on to you. Love you more than words can say. You are growing into a beautiful accomplished young lady. Now that you are a wife it is fun watching you build your home into a lovely place for you and Jordan. So very proud of you!! Call me anytime, it’s what Momma’s are live for!!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

