The Snowball Effect

Have you ever had a moment when you’re so inspired to do a project that you need to have it done, like, yesterday? Well, I had one such moment Friday afternoon. I was perusing the blogosphere and stumbled upon a stencil that I instantly loved. So, then my brain went into overdrive trying to think of a wall I could use this stencil on. I decided it would look great in our half bath. But then I thought to myself that if I was going to stencil one of the walls, it just wouldn’t look right if I didn’t paint the trim. And if I was going to paint the trim, then I would need to paint the cabinets, too. And if I was going to paint the cabinets, maybe I needed to replace the awful lighting in there.

This, my friends, is what I like to call ‘The Snowball Effect.’ It’s when you start out with a small snowflake of an idea, but that idea leads to another and another and another…until you’re left with a giant snowman.

Now, in this case, my snowman is made up of totally doable tasks. So Saturday evening, I made a quick trip to Lowe’s to pick up some supplies and I got started.

This is normally where I would insert a before picture of our tiny little bathroom. But I was in such a flurry that I forgot to take one. Bad blogger. Virtual slap on the wrist to me. Let me describe it to you. Small. No windows. Dark wood cabinetry. Gross linoleum. And it has not just one, but two ugly doors. Thats TWO! TWO UGLY DOORS..MWA-HA-HA! A little Count von Count anyone?

You may be saying, “Dacia, why in the world have you waited this long to tackle this monstrosity?!” Well, you see, we aren’t homeowners..we’re renters. Before we got married, we toyed with the idea of buying a home, but decided it would just be better to save up some money and buy a couple years down the road. Jordan is the assistant pastor at our our church, so luckily we had the option of renting one of the houses they own for a great price. It’s a ranch that was built in the early 90’s, and while it’s a very nice house (especially for a young, just-married couple), there are some things about it that drive me absolutely up the wall.

For example, there are 3 bedrooms and every stinkin’ closet in them has mirrored slider doors. And the master bedroom has two closets, so I basically feel like we’re sleeping in a weird fun house. When we toured the house (the church bought it just before we moved in), the previous owners went on and on about how much they ‘enjoyed’ winkwink nudgenudge having the mirrors in their master bedroom. Gross with a capital yuck.

This house also has quite the wide array of linoleum. It’s in the kitchen, laundry, half bath, and there’s a lovely rose-patterned linoleum in the full bath. Not exactly my style. Also, all of the kitchen cabinets are dark and outdated and the countertops leave much to be desired. And I couldn’t go without mentioning my second biggest nemesis next to the mirrored closets: vertical blinds. Who ever thought vertical blinds were a good idea?! We only have one set (thank the Lord!) in our family room on the sliders that lead out to the patio, but I truly despise them. There are no words.

So, there are all these things I’d love to change, but the fact that we rent really holds me back. Not that we wouldn’t have permission to do basically anything we wanted, but I just have a hard time motivating myself to make huge changes to a house that we’ll probably only live in for 1 or 2 more years. Other, than new paint on the walls, we really haven’t made any changes to the overall bones of the house. {Sidenote: I think I’m going to have to post a house tour soon so you guys can visualize what I’m talking about}

But I went against my instincts for this project. I figured this bathroom was a small enough space that I could handle the total room makeover. So here’s how it stands in its’ current state.

I have no idea what that weird rectangle thing is in the middle of the picture. You can see our laundry area beyond the bathroom.

And this is the view from the other door. That’s the master bedroom in the background. The walls are a dark grey.

I’ve primed all the trim, and started to put on the first coat of white paint. I’ve also primed and painted the cabinet above the toilet. I’m waiting for the doors to dry and then I’ll rehang them.

Still on the checklist to do: Finish the trim/mirror, prime and paint the vanity white, stencil the wall, find cute bathroom accessories, maybe switch out the lighting. I haven’t decided on that last one.

I’ll be back tomorrow with a more detailed post about how I primed and painted the cabinetry/trim for any of you that are wondering!

So what about you guys..have you ever started a project on a whim only to find it snowballing into a much larger project? Do you have things about your house that totally bug you?

June 13, 2011. DIY, Home/Design.

One Comment

  1. Failure Is Always An Option « Lemon Drop Life replied:

    […] my latest project has been updating our half bath. I came across a stencil online that totally inspired me, and so I got to work. So far I’ve painted the cabinets/trim and changed out the hardware. […]

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

