Failure Is Always An Option

I think that should be every DIYer’s slogan. Because we all know that sometimes things just plain ol’ don’t work out. And since I promised to keep it real with you guys, I figured I’d share my recent project flop.

As you might already know, my latest project has been updating our half bath. I came across a stencil online that totally inspired me, and so I got to work. So far I’ve painted the cabinets/trim and changed out the hardware. You can read more about that here. Then on Saturday, my stencil finally arrived! I was so excited that I immediately ran out to get supplies and get started. 

Now, you know me..I don’t lift so much as a hammer without doing extensive research to make sure I’m swinging it right..so of course I had read tons of tutorials online about the best methods for stenciling, what brush to use, etc. Some suggested using acrylic paints or stencil creme, others just used regular latex paint. The stencil also came with instructions from Royal Design Studio (the company that makes the stencil); they advised to use acrylic paint as well. So, obviously I ignored their instructions completely and attempted to do it a different way that I thought would be easier. Go me. “Surely they aren’t serious about using acrylic paint,” I thought. Uh-huh. ‘I am serious…and don’t call me Shirley’ (Airplane, anyone?).

I’m also going to go ahead and blame the decision to use latex paint instead of acrylic on the fact that stinkin’ Hobby Lobby and Michael’s don’t stay open past 9 pm on a Saturday. We were in Indianapolis all day on Saturday and didn’t get home until almost 9, and I just couldn’t wait a day to get supplies. So can I also say that along with the ability to accept failure, DIYer’s need to have patience? Yeah, well I don’t. I made a snap decision to run to Home Depot and pick up a quart of latex paint.

I know there are many cases where latex paint works just fine, but that’s not the story here. You see, I wanted to paint my stencil using a metallic gold/champagne color so that it would look kind of shimmery. So I picked up a quart of Rust-Oleum Painter’s Touch Metallic in Gold. I also picked up a pack of Purdy White Dove fabric rollers, per a recommendation from Mandi over at Vintage Revivals, and I went home to get started.


When I opened up the paint, I immediately got the feeling that this wasn’t going to work out so well. It had the consistency of water, very thin and runny. Thank goodness I at least had sense enough to test out the paint on a piece of cardboard before just rolling it straight onto the walls. I tried to get as little paint as possible on my roller, but the result was still this:


A big blobby mess. Ugh. Lesson learned. Always follow instructions, especially when they’re from the very company that makes the product you’re using. They probably know better than you do. C’est la vie. I’ll be buying some acrylic paint tonight, and hopefully be back tomorrow with a success story to share!

Have any of you guys ever used metallic paint? Any suggestions for what to do with the quart of gold I now own?

June 20, 2011. DIY, Life.

2 Comments

  1. Scallops? Like Sea Shells? replied:

    […] latex paint failed me, I headed out to Hobby Lobby Monday evening to pick up some acrylic paint. I went with […]

  2. Scallops? Like Sea Shells? « Lemon Drop Life replied:

    […] latex paint failed me, I headed out to Hobby Lobby Monday evening to pick up some acrylic paint. I went with […]

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

