House Touring: Memphis, TN

Alright guys, I’m back with the first of many posts about our vacation. The posts following this one will be kind of like travel/city guides for the various places we visited, so this one is kind of unique. On our way down to New Orleans, we stopped over for a night in Memphis to visit Jordan’s uncle. He lives in a beautiful old, Spanish style home built sometime in the 1920’s. I’m tellin’ ya, they just don’t make ’em like this anymore!

I’m a sucker for columns.

Check out the living room:

The sofa table has incredible intricate detail..

As does the fireplace..

How cool is that? It’s reminds me of Grecian pottery.

Next up, I wanna show you guys some of the really awesome details in the kitchen. Like this copper apron sink. First of all, I LOVE apron sinks and my dream kitchen has one for sure..but I had never seen a copper one. Definitely a cool, more masculine alternative.

 That hammered detail is just too cool, don’t ya think?

And take a look at this awesomeness..when he redid his kitchen he added an ice-maker disguised as a cabinet on the end of his island.

Genius.

Here’s the bedroom we stayed in:

You can’t really tell from this picture how MASSIVE the four poster bed was, but let me assure that it was. Like, I had to get a running start to get up there.

I think the thing I love the most about older homes are the small little charming details that give the house its’ character. For instance, these doorknobs:

You won’t find knobs like that in any new construction home. Just beautiful.

Now let’s venture out into the backyard, shall we?

I would love waking up to this every morning!

So quaint.

And here I am with the owner of the home, Jordan’s uncle Jim (aka Tookie).

So, what’d you guys think? What was your favorite part of the house? Are you a lover of old homes, too, or do you prefer new homes? Tomorrow, I’ll be posting my guide for New Orleans so be sure to come back and check it out!

July 20, 2011. Tags: . Home/Design.

One Comment

  1. Dad replied:

    Wow; what a beautiful home! I loved all of it!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

