Buffet Inspiration

I’ve been scouring Craigslist lately looking for a buffet or sideboard that’s ripe for a makeover. We don’t have a formal dining room in our current house, but it’s definitely on the list for our ‘someday’ house and I want a nice buffet for dish storage. I’m a little dish obsessed, in case you didn’t know.

So in the meantime, I’ve been scouring blogland and Pinterest for inspiration.

I love the mustard color of this little table and I like how they trimmed out the groove detail in a different shade. And those beautiful spindle legs? Forgeddaboutit.

First of all, WHOA. This buffet is gigantic. There’s enough room in there to hoard all the beautiful dishes I could ever want. Me likey. But the other thing that catches my eye is the dual finish. I really like the mix of the dark wood top and the white base. Very classic..it could virtually fit in with any style or color scheme. Which is definitely something for me to consider, seeing as how I don’t exactly know what my future dining room will look like.

I’m also very attracted to a grey/white color combo. And chevron stripes? Always a winner in my book!

Another mustard makeover (hmm..I’m sensing a trend), but what really drew me to this was the pattern they put on the buffet. I think it speaks to the mid-century modern style of this particular piece..so it might not look as hot on a more Victorian style buffet.

This is probably not a piece that would ever fit in my dining room, but I just love that they took a run-of-the-mill dresser and did something fun with it. It would be super fun in a little boys nursery!

I LOVE the glass front doors on this buffet, and it looks like it has a metallic sheen to it which I also dig. Put a metallic finish on something and consider me sold. It’s a sickness, really.

Ok, ladies and gents…stop drooling on your keyboard. You know I had to save the most jaw dropping makeover ’til the end! I am seriously so in love with this I can’t even tell you. The color scheme is to die for and what’s not to love about an ikat print? And, honestly, the thing I love the very most is that it’s not perfect. I really like the fact that you can tell that it was hand painted. Call me crazy, but I’m crushin’.

Which on was your favorite? Or maybe you’ve got other ideas of your own? Tell me all about it!

 

 

August 10, 2011. Tags: , . Home/Design.

Leave a Comment

Be the first to comment!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

