High Chair Makeover

For the past month or so, I’ve been racking my brain trying to think of something I could give to my brother-in-law and sister-in-law for their baby girl that will soon be making her debut in this world. Miss Lyla Mae is set to come August 30 and I couldn’t be more excited to meet my little niece! I wanted to give them something special, so when Jordan and I saw a great deal on a vintage wooden high chair, I knew it would be perfect. The high chair was definitely in rough condition and in need of a little lovin’.

I pictured it with a coat of fresh white paint, topped off with some antique glaze to make the details pop. So I started off by sanding it down with a medium grit sanding block, and then wiping it down with a damp paper towel to remove all the debris. Then I gave it a coat of white using Rust-Oleum’s Paint and Primer in One. I ended up doing three coats of spray paint, and sanded in between each coat.

I let the last coat dry for 24 hours, and then I went to work glazin’. And let me tell ya, it’s just about one of the easiest things you could ever do and it adds so much dimension! I used Valspar’s Antiquing Glaze.

I poured some out in a bowl and then used a paintbrush to brush on a thin, even coat.

I then used a damp washcloth to wipe it off in a circular motion.

I wiped mine off immediately as opposed to letting it sit because I didn’t want it to be too dark. Also, remember that when you’re applying glaze, you need to apply it to the whole piece of furniture so that you’ll have an even finish. I made sure to get the brush down into every nook and cranny so that they would soak up the glaze and really stand out.

See how simple? Once you get the technique down, it goes really fast! And depending on the size of your piece, you may want to have a few cloths on hand to wipe it down. Once one of them starts getting too dirty, you can switch to a clean one.

Doesn’t that look better? When it was finished, I sealed it with a couple coats of poly. It’s gotta hold up against some wear and tear!

I went back and forth with myself about whether I should find a way to add on a tray, but in the end I decided against it. I didn’t want to end up messing up the chair completely, and I figured they can just use this once Lyla gets a little older and can eat at the table.

Have you all been working on any projects lately? I’d love to see them!

August 17, 2011. DIY.

3 Comments

  1. Introducing… replied:

    […] guys remember the niece I did this high chair makeover for? Well, guess what…SHE’S […]

  2. Introducing… « Lemon Drop Life replied:

    […] guys remember the niece I did this high chair makeover for? Well, guess what…SHE’S […]

  3. Abi replied:

    I’m a huge fan of glazing…its makes a piece pop in all the right places!
    I’m sure your niece (and her parents!) will love it!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

